Aberystwyth University

The Fulbright Aberystwyth University Award covers a one-year master’s degree within the university's Department of International Politics.

The Aberytswyth University Department of International Politics is the oldest in the world. The Department was founded in 1919 as a response to the horrors of the First World War.

It represented a normative project with the aim of understanding the dynamics of world politics in order ultimately to transcend war. In the 21st century this rationale remains at the heart of the department.

With over 30 research active academic staff, the department offers an exceptional variety of degree schemes and modules taught by recognised experts in their fields with international reputations that attracts a cosmopolitan family of over 700 students from 40 countries.

The tight community of staff and students living in idyllic surroundings looking outward to the wide horizons of intriguing and exciting issues is very much an Aberystwyth experience

The following degrees are not covered under this Award:

  • MA Food & Water Security MA
  • MA Politics, Media and Performance MA
  • Any PhD programme

Grant amount

  • Full tuition waiver
  • £12,950

This is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).