University of Birmingham

The Fulbright University of Birmingham Award covers the first year of any master's or doctoral degree programme offered by the university.

The University of Birmingham was established by Queen Victoria by Royal Charter in 1900 and was the UK’s first civic or 'redbrick' university. The first phase of building work on the campus was completed in 1909 under the auspices of the esteemed architect Sir Aston Webb.

Birmingham represented a new model for higher education.

It was a founding member of the National Union of Students and the first university in the country to:

  • Be built on a campus model
  • Create a women’s hall of residence
  • Have a purpose-built students’ union building

Grant amount

  • Full tuition waiver
  • £12,950

This is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).