University of Leeds

The Fulbright University of Leeds Award covers the first year of any master's or PhD degree programme offered by the university.

The University of Leeds was founded in 1904, but its origins go back to the nineteenth century with the founding of the Leeds School of Medicine in 1831 and then the Yorkshire College of Science in 1874.

It was one of the first colleges for students of all faiths and backgrounds. The College supported the values of recently established Colleges in London and Manchester set up to challenge the exclusivity of Oxford and Cambridge universities, which were predominantly for the Anglican aristocracy and gentry.

Leeds was named University of the Year in The Times and The Sunday Times Good University Guide 2017. It is in the top 10 in the UK for research power, and is a member of the Russell Group.

Grant amount

  • Full tuition waiver
  • £13,200

This is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).