University of Southampton

The Fulbright University of Southampton Award covers the first year of any master's degree programme offered by the university.

The University of Southampton began as the Hartley Institute in 1852 and gained its Royal Charter from Queen Elizabeth II in 1952. Since then, the University has steadily built an international reputation for its pioneering research in many areas and is now a global top 100 university (QS World Rankings 2019).  

Southampton belongs to the Russell Group of research-intensive UK universities, with an academic community comprising around 24,000 students and 7000 postgraduate students - over 6,500 come from outside the UK and represent more than 135 countries. 

Academically, the University of Southampton is a broad-based university, with strengths spanning many academic disciplines including Humanities, Social Sciences, Engineering, Sciences and Medicine.  Over 96 per cent of the University’s research environment has been assessed as world-leading and internationally excellent and a number of our subject areas can be found amongst the best in the world, including Archaeology and Earth and Marine Sciences.

The city of Southampton is on the south coast of England and just over one hour from central London. There are many parkland spaces in the city as well as the New Forest (established in 1066 by King William) national park which is located 5 miles west of the City. Steeped in maritime history, Southampton famously set sail to the Mayflower and later the Titanic, with Southampton remaining a cruise ship capital.

Located close to the ancient capital of Winchester as well as Stonehenge, the region provided the inspiration for many of the UK’s most famous novelists including Jane Austen.

Grant amount

  • Full tuition waiver
  • £13,450 living stipend

The living stipend is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).