Global Wales

The Fulbright Global Wales Postgraduate Award covers the first year of any master's programme offered by a participating Welsh University.

The Welsh Government, Global Wales partners, and the Welsh universities have partnered with the Fulbright Commission to provide one master’s degree scholarship to study at one of the participating Welsh Universities, in any field. The Welsh universities offer a world-class education in one of the most stunning locations. Wales is known for its friendly welcome, its affordability, its independent spirit, and its traditions of excellence.

Top scholars are welcome to apply to the Global Wales Master’s award. It is a central award to any of the Welsh universities, but the applicant should specify the proposed subject to study, proposed supervisor, and at which university.

Eligible institutions

The following institutions are eligible for this award. Please check back regularly, as new institutions may be added to this list.

  • Aberystwyth University
  • Bangor University
  • Cardiff University
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University
  • Glyndwr University
  • Swansea University
  • University of South Wales
  • University of Wales, Trinity Saint David

Grant amount

  • Full tuition waiver
  • £15,609 living stipend
  • $1500 travel stipend

The living stipend is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time).

Welsh Awards

Applicants may also wish to explore other awards available to fund study in Wales.

Candidates eligible for the Fulbright Aberystwyth University Award, the Fulbright Bangor University Award or the Fulbright Cardiff University Award should apply for those awards in the first instance and they will be considered for the Fulbright Global Wales Award as well automatically during the selection process.