University College London

The Fulbright University College London Award covers a master's or the first year of a longer PhD programme.

UCL (University College London) is London's leading multidisciplinary university, with approximately 13,000 staff and 42,000 students from more than 150 different countries. 

Founded in 1826 in the heart of London, UCL was the first university in England to welcome students of any class, religion, and the first to welcome women on equal terms with men. 

The founding principles of accessibility and liberalism have encouraged the university to champion innovation, diversity and relevance to society, positioning UCL at the forefront of education and research. 

Today, UCL is the top university in the UK for research strength (REF 2014) and committed to real impact on a global stage. It is the largest graduate student population in the UK and is currently ranked 8th in the QS World University Rankings. There are currently 30 Nobel prize winners amongst UCL’s alumni and former staff, including most recently for Professor John O’Keefe in 2014. 

Grant amount

  • Full tuition waiver
  • £17,609 living stipend
  • $1500 travel stipend

This is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).