University of Strathclyde

The Fulbright University of Strathclyde Award covers degrees within the Faculty of Engineering, the Strathclyde Business School and the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences.

The University of Strathclyde was established more than 200 years ago, and has a student population of 23,000 from over 100 countries. The University was the first university to be awarded the UK University of the Year award by Times Higher Education (THE) twice – in 2012 and 2019. The University has also been recognised as Scottish University of the Year 2020 by The Sunday Times Good University Guide and was awarded the Queen’s Anniversary Prize, the highest national honour awarded to the sector.

One of the UK’s top 20 universities for research intensity, according to the Times Higher Education’s analysis of REF2014, Strathclyde is transforming the way academics, business, industry and the public sector work in partnership.


  • Strathclyde is home to Scotland’s largest Engineering Faculty and its impressive multimillion-pound investments in engineering facilities gives students access to state-of-the-art equipment and work space in which to study. 
  • Strathclyde Business School is the first business school in Scotland to achieve triple accreditation from the three main business school accreditation bodies – AMBA, AACSB and EQUIS (since 2004). It is featured in the top 90 European Business Schools (Financial Times, 2020), and is the first business school in Scotland to be awarded the Small Business Charter Award.
  • The faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences offers a wide range of courses that are recognised professionally. The faculty has strong links with government, global organisations, in both the public and private sector, and academic networks.

The University is located in Glasgow, Scotland’s largest city. It is rich in culture and provides students with access to world-class architecture and attractions, a diverse culinary scene, vibrant nightlife and outstanding shopping.

Grant amounts

The Fulbright University of Strathclyde Awards cover the following:

  • A one-year Master’s degree programme or the first year of a PhD, or a three-year PhD within the Faculty of Engineering (one award).
  • A one-year Master’s degree programme or a three-year PhD within Strathclyde Business School (one award).
  • A one-year Master’s degree programme or the first year of a PhD in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (one award).

All awards include:

  • Full tuition fee waiver
  • £15,609 living stipend
  • $1500 travel stipend

The living stipend is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).